Cruise from Charleston SCAn Independent Guide Check Availability

Charleston Dolphin Tour: Harbor Tour and Dolphin Watch Cruise

4.5/5 674 GetYourGuide reviews From $50 per person1.5 hoursFree cancellation 2h

Sold and operated by SpiritLine Cruises. Booked and paid through GetYourGuide. We may earn a commission if you book through our link, at no extra cost to you.

This Charleston dolphin tour is really two things on one boat: a narrated 1.5-hour loop of Charleston Harbor and a dolphin watch in the background. SpiritLine Cruises runs it from a choice of two docks, Patriots Point in Mount Pleasant or Aquarium Wharf downtown, and a licensed city guide narrates the harbor sights, from Fort Sumter to the USS Yorktown, the Battery, the Ravenel Bridge and Castle Pinckney. The ticket is $50 per person, and up to two children ride free per paying adult, which is a real saving for families. This page covers what the price buys, what it does not, and when a different cruise might suit you better. You can also see how it sits alongside the other cruises from Charleston SC before you book.

Dolphin watch cruise from Charleston passing the USS Yorktown, a narrated Charleston harbor cruise
4.5★674 reviews
$50per person
1.5 hoursduration
Freecancellation 2
Check Availability

About This Tour

SpiritLine Cruises operates this 1.5-hour harbor cruise with live narration from a licensed city tour guide. You choose one of two departure docks at booking: Patriots Point or Aquarium Wharf, and the cruise ends at Aquarium Wharf or Patriots Point. The route makes seven stops of about 10 minutes each, all viewed from the boat: Charleston Harbor, Fort Sumter, the USS Yorktown, the Battery and Castle Pinckney.

Dolphins appear in the cruise title and in the badge, and travellers do report sightings in reviews. The listing never promises them. What is certain is the narration, the landmarks and the harbor itself. Snacks and ice-cold beer are sold on board by card only, and the boat has restrooms.

Price
$50 per person. Up to two children ride free per paying adult on individual and family bookings, and each free child still holds a manifest seat.
Duration
1.5 hours on the water, with seven stops of about 10 minutes each.
Dock and parking
Departure from Patriots Point or Aquarium Wharf, chosen at booking. Parking at either departure point is not stated in the listing.
Boat and group size
A sightseeing boat with onboard restrooms. Group size is not stated in the listing.
Included and extra
Included: the harbor cruise and live narration by a licensed guide. Not included: food and drinks. Snacks and ice-cold beer are available on board, card only.
Cancellation
Free cancellation up to 2 hours before departure for a full refund. Tours operate rain or shine.

Check Dates and Availability

Departure times are not fixed in the listing, so check availability for the date you want and pick between the Patriots Point and Aquarium Wharf departures.

Powered by GetYourGuide
Quick answer Price, duration and the honest verdict

This Charleston dolphin tour costs $50 per person, runs 1.5 hours and carries a 4.5 rating from 674 verified GetYourGuide bookings. A licensed guide narrates Fort Sumter, the USS Yorktown, the Battery, the Ravenel Bridge and Castle Pinckney from the boat. Dolphins are reported by travellers but never promised. Up to two children ride free per paying adult, and you can cancel free up to 2 hours before departure.

Key takeaways

What the Price Actually Covers

The verified split of this listing is short, so know exactly what your $50 buys before you book.

What Is in the Ticket

Two things are included: the Charleston harbor cruise itself, and live narration by a licensed city tour guide. That narration is the real product here. It covers Fort Sumter, the USS Yorktown, the Battery, the Ravenel Bridge and Castle Pinckney from the water, with seven stops of about 10 minutes each. The mobile ticket appears in the GetYourGuide app right after booking, so no printing is needed.

The child policy is the second part of the value. On individual and family bookings, up to two children ride free per paying adult, and the child still holds a manifest seat and counts toward USCG persons-on-board. For context, the Fort Sumter ferry that shares these waters charges $43 for an adult day ticket, and Patriots Point admission to the USS Yorktown is $28 for adults.

  • Charleston harbor cruise
  • Live narration by a licensed city tour guide
  • Up to two free children per paying adult (individual and family bookings only)
  • Mobile ticket, available immediately
  • Free cancellation up to 2 hours before departure

What You Pay for on the Day

Food and drinks are not included. Snacks and ice-cold beer are sold on board, and the listing states card only, so bring a card rather than cash. There is no hotel pickup.

There is no entry ticket to any site, because everything is seen from the boat, so there is nothing to add there. Parking at Patriots Point or Aquarium Wharf is not priced or described in the listing, so check the cost before you go. Tips are not mentioned in the listing either way.

LineIn the priceNotes
Harbor cruise, 1.5 hoursYesSeven stops of about 10 minutes each
Live narrationYesLicensed city tour guide, English
ChildrenUp to 2 free per adultIndividual and family bookings only, manifest seat still held
Snacks and beerNoAvailable on board, card only
Food and drinksNoPaid on board
Hotel pickupNoMake your own way to the dock
Parking at the dockNoNot stated in the listing
CancellationFree up to 2h beforeFull refund inside that window
Dolphin surfacing off Folly Beach near Charleston, as seen on a Charleston dolphin watch cruise

A dolphin surfaces in the water off Folly Beach, south of Charleston. Photo: Ted Kerwin, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

What the Day Is Really Like

This is a fixed loop with no landing anywhere, so the whole trip is time on a moving boat with a guide talking.

Choosing Your Dock

Booking means a choice: the Patriots Point departure or the Aquarium Wharf departure. Patriots Point puts you in Mount Pleasant beside the USS Yorktown, Aquarium Wharf puts you downtown next to the South Carolina Aquarium. Pick whichever is closer to the rest of your day.

The meeting point varies by option booked, and the mobile ticket shows it immediately after booking.

The Loop

The boat works through the harbor in stages of about 10 minutes each. The listing breaks it as: Charleston Harbor sightseeing, Fort Sumter National Monument as a pass-by photo stop, the USS Yorktown CV-10 as a pass-by photo stop, back across open harbor, the Battery as a pass-by photo stop, Castle Pinckney as a pass-by photo stop, then a final stretch of harbor before the drop-off. Nothing is entered.

Fort Sumter is seen from the water, and so is everything else. If you want to stand on the fort itself, that is a different ticket, the Fort Sumter ferry and fort entry, which includes about an hour on the island with a ranger talk.

  • Charleston Harbor, scenic cruising
  • Fort Sumter, pass-by photo stop
  • USS Yorktown CV-10, pass-by photo stop
  • The Battery, pass-by photo stop
  • Castle Pinckney, pass-by photo stop

Dolphins, and When the Light Works

Dolphin sightings are mentioned in reviews and the cruise carries a dolphins badge, but the listing never promises them. Sightings depend on the day, and some trips see none. Treat a sighting as a bonus and the narration as the reason you booked.

Departure times are not stated in the listing, so check availability for your date. One seasonal note: in winter the sun sets early here, the earliest sunset of the year at Charleston falls around 5:14 p.m. in early December, so a late-afternoon sailing in the cold months can finish near dusk. If you want the light to be the point, a dedicated sunset cruise is built around it, while this one is built around the history.

Who This Tour Rules Out

The listing is honest about its limits, and so should you be. Here is who should book something else.

Travellers Who Need a Small Group or a Guaranteed Dolphin

This is a harbor sightseeing boat, and while the listing states no group size, it is plainly not an intimate skiff. If dolphins are the whole point of your day, a 12-guest skiff in the Folly Beach tidal creeks gives you a small group and an eco guide. Read the Folly Beach dolphin and estuary tour or the Morris Island lighthouse eco boat cruise, which caps at 21 guests.

Note the Morris Island boat has no restrooms on board, which this one does have.

Travellers Who Need a Landing or Deep Access

Nothing is entered on this cruise. Fort Sumter, the USS Yorktown and Castle Pinckney are all pass-bys. If you want to walk the fort with a ranger, book the Fort Sumter ferry and fort entry instead, and if you want below decks on the carrier, Patriots Point admission is separate, $28 for adults.

Travellers Who Want Sunset, Sails or a Free Ride

There is no timed sunset guarantee on this listing, no sails to raise, and no all-day hopping. For golden light on a catamaran, see the catamaran sunset cruise with music and bar from Shem Creek, or the schooner Pride harbor sail and dolphin watch if you want to help raise canvas. For the cheapest way on the water with a dolphin cruise on every trip, the Charleston water taxi all-day pass is covered on its own page, and it costs $17.

  • Weather: tours operate rain or shine, and can be cancelled for heavy rain, storms or high winds
  • Accessibility: no wheelchair or difficulty information is stated in the listing, so call the operator before booking if access matters
  • Restrooms are on board, which is a real advantage on a 1.5-hour trip with children

The Plain Honesty

The name says dolphin watch and the listing sells history. If you board expecting a dolphin show, you may leave disappointed, because sightings are not guaranteed and some trips see none. Book this as a harbor tour with a chance of dolphins and you will get exactly what you paid for.

If the weather turns foul, free cancellation up to 2 hours before departure means you can move your money elsewhere without losing it.

USS Yorktown moored at Patriots Point in Charleston Harbor, passed on a Charleston dolphin watch cruise

The aircraft carrier USS Yorktown is moored at Patriots Point across the harbor from downtown Charleston. Photo: Chanilim714, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Could You See It Without This Cruise?

Partly, yes, and for free. But not all of it, and here is where the line falls.

What the Shore Gives You for Nothing

Dolphins from land are a real thing in Charleston. Shore-viewing guidance names Waterfront Park pier, the Battery seawall near the Cooper River mouth, and the Folly Beach pier and west inlet as the best shore spots, with dawn, 10 a.m. to noon and 2 p.m. to sunset the best windows. Free things to do in Charleston covers both parks. Joe Riley Waterfront Park is free and open daily from 6 a.m. to midnight, with sheltered swings on the Vendue Wharf pier and views of the Ravenel Bridge and Fort Sumter.

The Battery seawall and White Point Garden are free with no gate. On the Mount Pleasant side, Memorial Waterfront Park has a 1,250-foot pier with free parking, open 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. from April to September. You can watch dolphins, ships and the bridge for the price of nothing more than your time.

What the Shore Cannot Give You

Three things stay out of reach from land. First, the landing-free approach to Fort Sumter and Castle Pinckney, both of which sit in the water where no sidewalk goes. Second, the narration: a licensed guide explaining what you are looking at, which is most of the value on this trip.

Third, the middle of the harbor itself, where dolphins surface away from the seawall and where the USS Yorktown looks the way it was built to look, from the water. A shore day can beat a tour for casual dolphin spotting and costs nothing, but it cannot replace the guide or the views. The Charleston water taxi page covers a middle path at $17 for an all-day pass, and if you are filling several days, see 2 days in Charleston or 3 days in Charleston.

When the Free Option Is Enough

If your budget is tight, if you have young children who will not sit still for 90 minutes, or if you only want to see a dolphin once this trip, walk the Battery at 2 p.m. and keep your $50. If you want the history, the harbor mid-water and a guide who answers questions, the cruise earns its price.

Shore and transit figures: Charleston Water Taxi, City of Charleston parks

The Trip, Step by Step

The listing gives no clock times for departure, only the order of the loop. Read it as a sequence, not a schedule.

  1. Before boarding

    Arrive at your chosen dock

    You booked either Patriots Point or Aquarium Wharf. Show the mobile ticket in the GetYourGuide app, no printing needed. Bring sunglasses, the only item the listing names in what to bring.

  2. Departure

    Lines off and out into the harbor

    The boat leaves the dock for a 1.5-hour loop. The guide, a licensed city tour guide, narrates live.

  3. On the water

    Fort Sumter pass-by

    A 10-minute photo stop off the fort at the harbor mouth. You see it from the boat, you do not land. This is where the Civil War story gets its anchor.

  4. On the water

    USS Yorktown CV-10

    Another 10-minute pass-by.

  5. The turn

    Across open harbor to the Battery

    A 10-minute stretch of open harbor, then the Battery waterfront as a photo stop.

  6. On the water

    Castle Pinckney

    A 10-minute pass-by of Castle Pinckney, seen from the water.

  7. Back at the dock

    Drop-off and the rest of your day

    The loop closes and you disembark at Aquarium Wharf or Patriots Point. Snacks and beer are bought during the trip by card only, and restrooms are on board throughout.

Honest Pros and Cons

Weigh this listing against what you actually want from a morning or afternoon on the water.

What we genuinely like

  • Live narration by a licensed city tour guide, which most sunset and schooner options on this water do not have
  • Up to two children ride free per paying adult, a family-friendly policy that most other cruises here do not list
  • Two departure docks, Patriots Point or Aquarium Wharf, so you can start from whichever side of the harbor suits your day
  • Free cancellation up to 2 hours before departure, a short-notice window shorter than the 24 hours most other cruises on this site ask
  • Restrooms on board and a 1.5-hour duration, an easy first boat trip for families
  • A 4.5 rating from 674 verified GetYourGuide bookings gives it a solid track record

The honest downsides

  • Dolphins are never promised, and some trips see none
  • Everything is a pass-by, so you never step onto Fort Sumter or the USS Yorktown
  • Snacks and beer are card only, so cash is useless on board
  • Parking at either dock is not described in the listing
  • A late afternoon sailing in winter can run into an early dusk, with the year's earliest sunset around 5:14 p.m.
  • No group size stated, and it is a harbor sightseeing boat rather than a small-group wildlife trip

Who it's NOT for: Not for travellers who want a guaranteed dolphin sighting in a small group, a timed sunset, or to set foot inside Fort Sumter or the USS Yorktown.

Questions About This Cruise

Is this Charleston dolphin tour good for children?

Yes, and it is priced for them: up to two children ride free per paying adult on individual and family bookings, each holding a manifest seat. The 1.5-hour length and onboard restrooms keep it easy. See how it compares with the rest of the Charleston cruises.

Are dolphins guaranteed on this cruise?

No. Sightings are mentioned in reviews and the listing carries a dolphins badge, but the operator does not promise them. If a dolphin is the whole point, a small skiff such as the Folly Beach dolphin and estuary tour puts you in tidal creeks capped at 12 guests.

Where does the boat leave from?

You choose at booking between Patriots Point in Mount Pleasant and Aquarium Wharf downtown, and the meeting point varies by option booked. The docks guide on the homepage explains both areas.

What happens if it rains?

Tours operate rain or shine, and the operator can cancel for heavy rain, storms or high winds. You can cancel free yourself up to 2 hours before departure for a full refund. More cancellation terms are in the comparison table.

How much should I budget beyond the $50 ticket?

Snacks and ice-cold beer on board are extra and card only, and the listing says nothing about parking at either dock. Tips are not mentioned. If you would rather spend almost nothing, the free things to do in Charleston include two waterfront parks with harbor views.

Does this tour go inside Fort Sumter?

No, Fort Sumter is a pass-by photo stop of about 10 minutes and you never land. To walk the fort with a ranger, book the Fort Sumter ferry and fort entry instead, at $43 for adults.

Is this the same as the SpiritLine dinner cruise?

No. Both are run by SpiritLine Cruises, but the dinner cruise is 2.5 hours with a 4-course meal and costs $120, while this is a 1.5-hour narrated day cruise at $50. The Charleston Harbor dinner cruise page covers the evening option in detail.

What Travelers Said

★★★★★ ★★★★★
Our guide was amazing! I forget his name but he was a retired military pilot and does this tour for fun. And I’ll tell you what, he knows a lot of history about Charleston, really enjoyed listening to his stories and facts about the city and the islands. And we got lucky enough to see some Dolphins!
Alayna · United States · April · GetYourGuide review
★★★★★ ★★★★★
Our guide was exceptional! We learned so much about the history around Charleston. I highly recommend this tour.
Lori · United States · October 2024 · GetYourGuide review
★★★★★ ★★★★★
Very nice cruise on the water and a very knowledgeable guide. We even saw some dolphins. Well worth the time and money.
Richard · United Kingdom · June 2024 · GetYourGuide review

Pick your dock, Patriots Point or Aquarium Wharf, and lock in a seat with free cancellation up to 2 hours before departure.

Booked through GetYourGuide with a mobile ticket, free cancellation up to 2 hours before departure and no fees to print or collect anything.

Check Availability

Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.

We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure

From $50 per person Check Availability